DRIVING FOR 8 HOURS A DAY WILL MAKE YOU DIE- HOW TO SURVIVE LONG CAR JOURNEYS

Back pain due to poor driving position

This person spends a lot of time driving. He sits in the same position for up to 10 hours per day.

One day this man will die.

Sitting all day will kill him dead if he doesn’t sort it out immediately!

Of course this isn’t the case, but if you do spend an inordinate amount of time driving and maintaining a position that restricts movement and puts you into an awful position (affecting breathing and even how you feel psychologically) it negatively affects your life. You’ll probably feel awful after a long drive and while sitting for long periods of time may not structurally shorten the hip flexors sitting still for so long certainly inhibits performance.

Recently my spine exploded. I’m not sure what’s happened. I should have gone to the doctors but I am a man (therefore stupidly too fucking proud to go 99.9% of the time) therefore I didn’t. I noticed that sitting still results in agony and not really being able to move at all. This was especially bad after a 90 minute drive recently where I kind of just grinded my teeth and got on with it as the pain increasingly descended all the way down the left leg.

Later, on the way home from a clients house a quote from someone came to mind (Eric Cressey perhaps) who said something along the lines of “the best posture is one that is constantly moving in a pain free and efficient way” so I decided to make up a bit of a movement complex each time I had to stop for some reason or for when just driving along the motorway.

I reached over my left shoulder with my right arm to touch the head rest, I repeated on the other side 5 times

I touched my nose to the top of the steering wheel 5 times (so I could still see the road and keep hold of the wheel!)

I touched the left window with my left hand

I pushed my chest up 5 times

flexed my quad/ stretched my hamstring 5 times each side.

I repeated this as often as I could with the theory being that if I move around as much as possible, perhaps my movement might not suck quite as much as it normally does after a long drive. I plan to introduce more movements as I experiment. Hopefully I won’t crash and hopefully it will mean that I won’t have to worry about performing really badly in the gym after a long drive (because caffeine defeats tiredness.)

I’m going to keep going with this and see what happens. So far my back feel 7 million times better.

See if you can apply some of these techniques when you find yourself on an epic driving journey and see what you come up with.

Loads of people will have come up with things like this before. So if you’re a fitness professional and I’m butchering your work and making a mockery of the field then please make me aware of it in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

